Hobbit

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Review:

I’m going to admit something here. It’s really easy for me to write reviews for the obscure books I read thanks to random book generation. I can write whatever I want when I am fairly certain I am only 1 of 15 people in the world who has read and therefore has an opinion on a book. Just like how I can kill a presentation in front of a room full .. As long as I’m talking about the micromorphology of wallboard. I have a million opinions on it and no one will doubt me because I’m more than likely the only one around who knows enough to have an opinion.

Trying to write a review for a book that perhaps only 15 people in the world have never read gives me anxiety. A lot of anxiety. The type of anxiety I get when I have to make small talk when there is no abnormal weather (cold, huh?), it’s not Monday (so what’d you do this weekend?), and it’s not Friday (any plans?).  It’s not like I don’t have any other thoughts in my head, of course I do. (Taylor Swift is performing on NYE in NYC – ARE YOU EXCITED?) (Yes, I wrote this review in January.) It’s the potential, self imagined response (you, little girl, much like Taylor swift, are an idiot.) Same goes for book reviews. Plenty of opinions, constant fear that I missed some major theme in the book that is gravely important to everyone else but me and I will receive the same response .. That I will never ever know about as it exists only in the collective head of my excessively minimal audience. Yes, I know all of this is the nonsense you are not supposed to think – have your own opinion, don’t worry what other people think about you. I know.

All of that rambling mainly just to say this – before writing a review of a well known book, I read at least 20 other reviews to make sure I am not, in fact, an idiot. This time, in doing so, I found a review that said all I wanted to say and more. So instead of reading anything else I may have to say .. Just read everything this man has to say. All of it. Come on, don’t be lazy, just click the link and read.

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/23503181?book_show_action=true&page=1

In closing, I would just like to include my favorite quote from the book, “This is a story of how a Baggins had an adventure, and found himself doing and saying things altogether unexpected. He may have lost the neighbours’ respect, but he gained – well, you will see whether he gained anything in the end.”

PS

Things I like – calm, matter of fact tone telling suspense, dramatic content.

Things I wanted more of: imagery, description, Dickensian rambling.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17885823-the-hobbit

Enhanced by Zemanta
