photo-4

So I got this off of Diner’s, Drive-Ins, and Dives. In the beginning of the week I had glanced at the recipe to make my shopping list but never really read the instructions. I went about my business all week thinking about how I was going to grill this steak up and then when I pulled up the recipe I was a little off. Stubborn as I am, I decided to go it my own way. Can’t tell you it was better than the original because I never made it but … It was freaking delicious.

Here’s the original recipe: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/sonnys-steak-hoagie-recipe.html

I served these open sandwiches with a side of cheddar creamed corn – these recipe is missing a little something, not sure what just yet, so I won’t post it until I perfect. And, as always, I’d like to thank my hubs for taking over grill duty and coming up with the steak marinade recipe that really always works perfectly.

——

Grilled Skirt Steak Melts

Ingredients

1 Skirt Steak
2 6″ Sandwich Rolls
8 oz Cream Cheese (softened)
1 Yellow Onion (Sliced into Strings)
Olive Oil
Canola Oil
Mccormick Montreal Steak Seasoning
Red Wine Vinegar
8 Slices Provolone Cheese (halved)
Sugar

Directions

An hour before you are ready to cook, throw steak in a ziplock back, add in about 6 heavy shakes of steak seasoning, 1/2 cup of olive oil, 1/2 cup of canola oil, and 1/4 cup of red wine vinegar. Seal the bag, jostle around so the marinade mixes, and leave to marinate until you’re ready to throw it on the grill.

Preheat oven to Broil.

Add two turns of each type of oil to a frying pan over low-medium heat. Add onion strings with two pinches of sugar to the pan, cover, and let cook for 20ish minutes until beginning to brown, stirring occasionally.

While the onions are doing their thing, heat the grill to high. Once the grill has come to temperature, throw the steak on. I grill my skirt steak for about 4 minutes on the first side and about 2-3 minutes on the second side to give a medium-rare finish, but cook however you’d like.

Once the steak is done I leave it on a cutting board for about 10 minutes. During the steak’s resting period, pull the onions from the pan (save them in a small bowl or something). Turn the heat up on the pan to medium-high. While the leftover oil heats up a little, slice the rolls in half. Two at a time, press the open sides of the roll halves onto the pan. This will give a crisp texture and lots of flavor to the open face of the melt.

Once the rolls are ready to go, slice the steak with an electric carver into very, very thin slices. Arrange the sliced on the open roll halves, top with a good helping of onions, then cover with 4 provolone halves each. Throw onto a baking sheet, broil in the oven for a few minutes until bread is crisp and cheese is melted.

Enhanced by Zemanta
