1409502

Rating: 3/5 Stars

Review:

I’ll be honest here, I waited a little too long after I read the book to write a spectacular review, For this I apologize. Here’s what I do know. Recently I’ve had a growing little interest in comics – I read a graphic novel about The Carter Family which I absolutely loved. Then I bought my husband a Batman comic anthology and I find myself sneaking into it quite often.  It seems this book came to me at the perfect time. If nothing else, it was a wonderful introduction to the history of comics, superheroes, etc. The reason I just felt so-so about the work as a whole is simply because I got sort of bored after a while. I was really into reading about how comics began but I sort of dazed off into space after a while as the potential connections to the Jewish-American experience trailed on. For the first half of the book I thought all of the possible connections the author drew were really interesting and clever, but without really having any experience with the superheroes, other than seeing a few movies, it only held my interest for so long. Of course, this is probably more of a personal problem than a reflection of the writing itself (which honestly applies to 90% of my reviews anyway, sorry hardworking authors of the world.)

Speaking of the author, something about the way he wrote just spoke to me and said “Elizabeth, you want to be friends with this man.” So, whoever you are, your writing was very friendly and familiar. It seems like you really care about the Jewish-American connection to the development of these superheroes and did your research with an endearing, genuine sense of passion. No condescending, affected under and/or overtones that I very often get from non-fiction – just a pal teaching me about comics. Well done man, well done.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1409502.Disguised_as_Clark_Kent

Enhanced by Zemanta
