The song “Another Night” came up on my Pandora and I found myself having a serious dance session in my basement lab at work. Certainly not the first time I have heard this 90s dance jam … let’s take a journey back in time … way back

… the year is 1996 … I am bopping around the 3rd grade with a large pair of red wire glasses that take up my entire face, a present day Miley Cyrus length “boy cut” (thank you parents for letting me make my own decisions, even if that meant following my ‘way cool’ hair stylist into this tragic fashion decision) and a whole wardrobe of Rugrats Tshirts, each most likely with some obnoxious Angelica-ism … “if you have to ask, you’ll never know.”

At this time the only thing we listened to in my household was country. I had already been to a multitude of country concerts – Garth Brooks, Brooks and Dunn, Alabama, yes, even Billy Ray Cyrus, who came to speak to me in the audience (and being deathly shy, promptly hid behind my mother and refused to acknowledge his presence even though I could give a mean Achy Breaky Heart performance in the safety of my own home.) Of course, this passion for country music was quite strange seeing as NONE of my long islander classmates listened to any of this. My third grade teacher had a truck driver come in and talk to the class once (thinking back, this seems strange but I’m sure there was a perfectly good reason for it as Mr. Siegelman was the greatest teacher to ever grace an elementary school classroom.) Anyway, this middle aged truck driver had a cowboy hat and talked about country music and I thought, FINALLY, someone who understands me.

Then … tragedy struck. We turned on the radio in the car and BAM, the last Long Island country radio station was now a 90s DANCE STATION. Soon, my favorite artists changed from Garth Brooks and Billy Ray to La Bouche and Real Mccoy. Even better, now I could talk about songs at school and at least two or three kids would know what I was saying. This brings me to the climax of my story – Real Mccoy – Another Night (full album) was the first cassette tape I ever owned. You know, my first cassette that was all mine, not something I just took from my parents, it belonged to me. So, as I sat in the basement at work the other day, I decided to go back through this album and see what I thought was so, so, so cool way back when. ‘

Conclusion: The singles still hold true as pure jams. Another Night and Come and Get Your Love are still awesome dance songs that I will always, always love.

Beyond these two favorites – What in the world was I thinking?? And what was this trend of powerful female voices singing with extremely creepy, deep-voiced men doing awful, awful euro-rap? Why was this the thing to do in mid 90s club songs? To witness this at its best we need to look at “Rhythm is a Dancer – Snap!” as I cite the line “I’m as serious as cancer, when I say ‘rhythm is a dancer,'” or perhaps a little La Bouche … let’s say Be My Lover with “Loving you, not like your brother, aw yeah
I wanna be your lover.”

Some real highlights if you’re interested — “Sleeping with an Angel” – the rap bits of this song are so, so tragic its worth a listen. I’m not sure I have literally “laughed out loud” so hard in a long, long time. Of course I felt completely inappropriate doing so because he is discussing his parents divorce but … I couldn’t stop myself … which made me laugh even harder.

Also, I’d give a listen to “Love and Devotion” because it includes the anthemic “oh la oh la aye” line that I am typically used to hearing in my favorite 90s dance tune – La Bouche – Sweet Dreams. Which begs me to ask the question .. who started this??

But then wait! Put on “Ooh boy” — you hear “oo boy I love you so, never ever ever gonna let you go” .. WAIT A MINUTE NOW .. are you telling me THIS is what Shaggy/Janet Jackson/rerecorded with Samantha Cole sampled in Luv Me, Luv Me?

I don’t know anything anymore, man. Let’s just throw on some Technotronic and enjoy this walk down memory lane, shall we?

Enhanced by Zemanta
