photo-3

So Rachel Ray called this a “lasagna bowl” and I get the pasta shape resembles the side of a lasagna noodle but it’s a stretch to put this in the same category for me. There’s no gooey melted mozzarella, no creamy whole milk ricotta, I could continue but let’s face it, nothing is more important to me than cheese. Be that as it may, the meal was delicious. One important thought before I begin: I am not sure what sort of time warp Rachel Ray lives in but … these 30 minute meals never take me less than a damn hour. Which is fine, I enjoy my time in the kitchen – especially when the recipe has wine – but .. why this is the name of your show, I’ll never understand. Perhaps if I get my cat to prep my vegetables?

——

Campanelle in Bechamel and Bolognese Duo

( Recipe taken/adapted from – http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/two-sauce-weeknight-lasagna-bowls-recipe/index.html )

Ingredients

Salt
1 pound Campanelle pasta
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil (skipped this)
1/4 pound pancetta, a couple of thick slices, chopped (Here we go, so I took out the pancetta – don’t like it’s texture when it sits in sauce for a while – plus I would have to go to a separate store and I’m lazy. Instead chopped up two slices of bacon in the pan, removed it once it cooked and discarded, kept the bacon grease and used it to flavor the vegetables in lieu of the olive oil.)
3/4 pound ground beef pork and veal mix or ground beef (again, I won’t be finding any ground veal in walmart so – mixed together some ground beef and the insides of some mild italian sausages. Typically I don’t love Italian sausage but I really liked it here – good choice.)
1/2 large carrot, peeled and grated or finely chopped
1 small to medium onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, 2 chopped or grated, 1 peeled
1/2 teaspoon allspice, a couple of pinches
Freshly ground black pepper
1 bay leaf
3 tablespoons tomato paste
1/2 cup dry red wine
2 cups beef stock
3 tablespoons butter
3 tablespoons flour
2 cups milk
Nutmeg, to taste
1/2 cup grated Parmigiano Reggiano, plus some to pass at table
A handful fresh parsley leaves, finely chopped (skipped this)

Directions

Heat large pot of water to a boil, salt water and cook pasta to al dente. (I wouldn’t start this until your meat sauce is simmering unless you too live in Rachel’s time warp.)

While pasta water comes to a boil, heat olive oil in a medium sauce pot over medium-high heat, add pancetta and render 2 to 3 minutes then add meat and break up as it browns. ** (This is where I played with bacon -see above- I cooked the meat in a separate pan so I could drain it before adding it to the vegetables that I already had cooking in the bacon grease.)When the meat has begun to caramelize and develops a nice brown color, 4 to 5 minutes, add carrot, onion, 2 cloves of garlic, allspice, salt ** (use salt sparingly as broth tends to be on the salty side) and pepper and a bay leaf (remove before serving). Cook 3 to 4 minutes more to soften onions and carrots bits then stir in tomato paste and cook for 2 minutes, then stir in wine and cook out 1 minute then stir in stock and reduce heat to simmer. (At this point I would put the water on to boil.)

While red sauce cooks, cut remaining whole clove of garlic and rub the inside of a medium sauce pot with it. Melt butter in pot over medium heat. Add in flour and whisk together a minute or so then whisk in milk and bring to a bubble, reduce heat then season sauce with salt, pepper and nutmeg, (throw your noodles into the water to cook now!) thicken 8 to 10 minutes. ** (When I tasted the bechamel it was a tad bland so I threw in 1/4 cup parm cheese and just a sprinkle of garlic powder. I’m sure you bechamel snobs will scoff but … damn it tasted good, and parm helped with the thickening which I enjoyed.)

Toss pasta with white sauce and 1/2 cup grated cheese ** (Skipped it since I put it in the sauce.) Serve pasta in individual bowls and top with a ladle of meat sauce in the middle of the bowl for mixing in. Garnish with parsley.

—-

Enhanced by Zemanta
