photo-2

So these are adorable, delicious, and take no more than 10 minutes to set up. This is Paula Deen’s recipe. Who personally makes me cringe but – hey its a good recipe. I served two pockets per person as a side with my stuffed shells (see previous post) but they make cute appetizers too.

( Recipe taken/adapted from – http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/phyllo-wrapped-asparagus-recipe/index.html )

Ingredients
1 bundle asparagus spears (I usually like thin asparagus but for this recipe I prefer them a little thicker.)
1/2 (16-ounce) package frozen phyllo dough sheets, thawed
1/4 cup butter, melted (I used margarine because I had a leftover stick to use up)
1/4 cup finely grated Parmesan

Directions
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Snap off the tough ends of the asparagus. Unwrap the phyllo and cut the stack in half lengthwise. Reserve 1 stack for later use. Cover the phyllo with a damp towel to keep it from drying out. Take 1 sheet of phyllo and brush lightly with some melted butter. (**I use 3 sheets per bundle, 1 is way too thin for me.) Sprinkle with some Parmesan. Place 2 to 3 asparagus spears on the short end of the sheet. Roll up, jelly-roll style. (I actually describe my roll as burrito roll style … here’s a picture:

photo-1

Place each piece, seam side down, on a baking sheet. (I covered my baking sheet with foil – easy clean up – and greased it to prevent sticking.) Brush with more melted butter and sprinkle with more Parmesan. Repeat until all the asparagus spears are used up. Place baking sheet in oven and bake for 15 to 18 minutes, or until golden brown and crispy. (**ALERT: mine were definitely done after 8 minutes. My oven does tend to get hotter than I want it to but I can’t see any oven taking 15 minutes.)

Enhanced by Zemanta
